Monday Micropost: Dishwashers

I grew up washing dishes by hand, and now, renting a house, I have opportunity to use a dishwasher. Sadly, dishwashers do not live up to their mythic aura. They are the minimum wage high school-age workers of kitchen appliances. See from this conversation:

Me: “Dishwasher, I said I wanted these dishes clean, not retaining oily residues and covered in water spots!”
Dishwasher: “Yeah, it’s clean, whatever. I splashed water on them, what more do you want?”

Although my hands are a bit overqualified for the position due to their bachelor’s degree in writing, I will choose, in general, to contract my dishwashing to them. Quality is worth the extra effort.

This entry was posted in Humor, Micropost and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

