In Great Britain, I Am Regarded As A God

Sometimes, when I want to feel like I’m contributing to my blog, but I don’t want to actually write anything, I look through my blog statistics. There are many fascinating facts to be discovered. Such as:

56 people have found my blog by searching for “Peter Parker”, including three Greeks.

On my busiest day, the site received over 250 views, thanks to a link posted on Reddit.

And most surprising and delightful of all, I found that of all the people who have ever liked, commented, or in any other way expressed their appreciation for Mindless Productivity–four of them are British.*

Is it my particular brand of humour? The unconscionable length of my post titles? Or have the countless hours upon hours of watching Doctor Who, A Bit of Fry and Laurie, and Fawlty Towers finally begun to pay off?

I have even been known to impersonate a British person on occasion. Could that be why?

By Jove, does it matter one whit? At last, I am becoming accepted and revered in Britain as one of their own!

Or at least, I have been liked by four of them: tinkerbelle86prettyfeetpoptoeimonthebandwagon, and Nigel Windsor, who currently lives in the states.

And for that, I thank you. Thank you for reading, and thank you for the wonderful way in which you speak. Forgive me, dear chums, as I imminently mangle it.

Despite never having visited (though not entirely for lack of trying), England is one of my favorite countries, if only for the literature that emerges from this country. P.G. Wodehouse, Agatha Christie, Neil Gaiman, William Shakespeare, Douglas Adams, Lewis Carroll, Terry Pratchett, G.K. Chesterton, J.R.R. Tolkien, George Orwell…the list goes on indefinitely.

In thanks for the many many ways in which your country has bettered my life, I would like to leave you with this brief recorded message:

Thank you all, and cheerio!

 

Footnote:

*Forgive me if I used the improper term. After some brief research, I have now learned the difference between England, Great Britain, and the UK. England is a country which takes up most of the lower two-thirds of Great Britain, which is the island itself. And the United Kingdom includes Great Britain and Northern Island.

How’d I do, Brits?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Great Britain, I Am Regarded As A God

  1. Pingback: Post 100: Of Books and Beards and Other Things I Shall Regret By December 1st. | Mindless Productivity

Leave a Reply

