Summer of Awesomeness Days 44 and 45: The Dark Knight Rises

When having a truly awesome summer, it’s important to take time to relax. And what better way is there to relax than staying up until four in the morning watching a newly-released blockbuster?

Having purchased tickets a few days earlier, I headed up to Fort Wayne to see The Dark Knight Rises with friends Clint, Rachel, and Jason. We left shortly after 3, arriving in Fort Wayne a little after 4. We ran errands and hung out for a few hours in Fort Wayne, finally arriving at the Jefferson Pointe mall.

First stop was Walmart, for caffeine. In the back, we found chilled 1.5 liters of Mountain Dew for $1, and quickly stocked up. And so as not to be slain by the munchies, we also made a pit stop at Burger King.

And I ate a bacon sundae.

When I saw the advertisement, I assumed that it was bacon on mashed potatoes with gravy, but my compatriots informed me that, no, it was in fact a chocolate caramel sundae with bacon on it.

Challenge accepted.

I walked up to the counter and ordered a bacon sundae, telling the cashier, “If Burger King marketing ever asks, I want it made perfectly clear that I do not approve, but this is for Science.”

When I took my first bite, I was surprised to discover that it was extremely…meh. I had expected it to either be as disgusting as it sounded or illogically delicious. Instead, it was just…so-so. The saltiness of the bacon added an interesting counter to the sweetness of the ice cream…but then it went just a bit too far.

But anyway, movie.

So we headed over to the Rave around 9:30, mentally preparing ourselves for a long wait in line. This was when we discovered that the Rave has a surprisingly effective system for midnight showings. Instead of making everyone wait in line outside for several hours, they let people buy their tickets and then go ahead and sit in whatever open theater they choose.

We scouted a few different theaters until we found one that gave us four adjacent seats with an excellent view. And then we camped there, for roughly the length of one of the other Batman movies.

We spoke of movies and stories and video games and philosophy to pass the time. At one point, Batman and Robin chased the Joker through our theater, bringing him down to the cheers of many in the audience. At last the movie arrived.

There’s an odd, almost hallowed quality to midnight screenings. I’ve only been to three: Iron Man, The Dark Knight, and The Dark Knight Rises. The theater was packed, but it was one of the quietest theaters I’d ever been in. Nobody yelled spoilers, nobody mocked the action going on, nobody talked on their cell phones–there was only an awed, respectful silence for the spectacle on screen.

I won’t say anything about the movie, except that it was magnificent. I don’t know if I would say it’s better than The Dark Knight…I would have to watch it at least once more to make a judgment on that. But either way, it is an epic film, and an admirable conclusion to Christopher Nolan’s Batman saga.

And then, at three in the morning, we drove back to Upland. Despite getting home at four, I was still abuzz with adrenaline from the movie, and did not go to bed for another hour.

And I don’t regret it one bit.

 

This entry was posted in Movies, Summer of Awesomeness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

