Nobody Writes Poems About e-mail

Nobody writes poems about e-mail

And of course they shouldn’t

No more than they should about snapping turtles or turtlenecks

Or life or love or the devil’s fiery droppings

But they do

Or I can imagine they do

I can imagine the shape of their poems like

A beautiful woman that exists only in the mind

So they might as well be real

And if they might as well be real, then so as well might be mine

The one about e-mail, I mean

So here it is

A Poem About e-mail To Disprove The Previous Title

e-mail

They say there’s nothing beautiful about you

You’re the death of a former way of life

You’re a grimy little miser with your warty little fingers on the precious little hearththrob of our dear little world

e-mail

They say you’re one more wedge we drive between ourselves

One more thing that separates us from each other

One more thing that makes us alone

e-mail

They have a right to hate you

As they hate death and heartbreak and all those other insignificant things that make them feel

for a moment

unhappy

But they shouldn’t say there’s nothing beautiful about you

With each pulse-flow of ones and zeroes

You beat into the profound sadness of the 21st century

And there’s something beautiful in that.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Nobody Writes Poems About e-mail

  1. Pingback: Shared from WordPress | WRITE TO LIVE

  2. ajoobacats says:

    Too good to not re-blog! Thank you.

  3. Chad says:

    That was a clever title! I was drawn in because I was expecting a discussion on why it is not a popular topic for poetry. Then, I chuckled when I realized that the post is really all about introducing your poem about emails. Nice work!

    (However, I might suggest that you rethink the title of the poem since it’s too dependent on the title of the post. Ooops! I just did. :D)

  4. reeblather says:

    email
    You make us extraordinarily brave

  5. madisonlang says:

    This was wonderful! I enjoy your poetry.

  6. Weird are the ways we find inspiration. So impressed with your poem!

  7. I love poetry and I love this perspective.

  8. Yep! you are right, there is no point in writing a poem about e-mail.

  9. emaulebljs says:

    WOW

  10. Why aren’t my post streaming on here 😧I’m new here can someone please explain

  11. Pingback: Shared from WordPress | Exchange Underground Life

  12. Hey what’s good ? You have a good blog !

    Julien
    Location de benne 67 :
    http://www.locationdebenne67.fr.nf

  13. francisoyie says:

    Reblogged this on ifranc and commented:
    awesome

  14. Stickymom says:

    Enjoyed this. Next challenge: Facebook.

  15. Londoner says:

    Brilliant post. And there may not be many poems about email, but here’s a great one about texting from poet Sophie Hannah:
    Blank spaces count as characters. It’s true.
    I wasn’t sure. And then I thought of you.

  16. Jem Croucher says:

    There’s beauty in everything – even email! (Although sometimes it’s hard to see when you have over 700 in your inbox first thing in the morning!)

  17. B says:

    I’m really liking this.

  18. BHavEEka says:

    Very witty and smart!!!

  19. elainecanham says:

    You’re a grimy little miser…love that line. Great poem. Thanks.

  20. gilbertbernand says:

    Reblogged this on gilbertbernand's Blog.

  21. mackandzack says:

    I love this! πŸ™‚

  22. alf.com says:

    Below the accumulating male
    lay the woman I wanted to know
    Poised in perfection
    lobbying for my throbbing heart

  23. Lol very nice, I guess people will never run short of unique ideas πŸ™‚

  24. segmation says:

    You just wrote a poem about email so you must be a somebody! Thanks for sharing.

  25. Superbly done. Sublime read.
    I have a blog too if anybody would like to pop by and take a look?

  26. Grace says:

    I would write the poem describing how email communicates, whether it’s good or bad, and you can’t really hear the person speaking.

  27. An unthought aspect and you personified something as dead as this….your words gave it life and me breathing with it….lovely…”You’re the death of a former way of life” ….says so much….kudos! glad you got freshly pressed.

  28. chrisboma says:

    Its something out of the ordinary. Its extraodinary. Good job

  29. Therese Lu says:

    I have always thought that nothing was more sincere than a handwritten note. I guess we all have to go with the times, but something personally handwritten every now and then would be nice.

  30. fitzilog says:

    Reblogged this on fitzilog and commented:
    hmmm

  31. Elly-Grace says:

    Hey! Please check out my blog! would appreciate it heaps! Loved this post! πŸ™‚ http://ellygraace.wordpress.com
    Kind regards
    Elly

  32. Mithil Verma says:

    Wow. First one to listen email poem. Fantastic buddy

  33. e-mail. You make us not so romantic, because our handwritten has been replaced by typing. But you make us more practical

  34. One Blue Sky says:

    Inspired! How about SMS? =)

  35. pranam23 says:

    Nice poem..!a great one.
    I too have started my blog by writing a poem,it is about us.If u get time then please go through it πŸ™‚

  36. Intelligent…following you as I love poems and I write myself and it was different….do check my poems if you gotta time…

  37. naomickellogg says:

    Bravo! Awesome!

  38. I think you have let yourself be inspired, and in doing so, you are inspiring others. BRAVO!

  39. monalatte says:

    Bravo! Very enjoyable

  40. hidada1 says:

    。。。。

  41. mahendros says:

    e-mail do divorced people?

  42. divabumex says:

    That was lovely..

  43. Shami says:

    Haha nice πŸ™‚

  44. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

  45. thepoetx says:

    This was very clever. Appreciate it

  46. This, challenge accepted

Leave a Reply

