Conversation Between Friends At A Bar That Neither Of Them Can Remember The Name Of

“I don’t understand it,”
He said.
“That last one.
I don’t get it.”

“Maybe,” I said,
“You’re just not very good
At reading poetry.”

“Or maybe,” he suggested,
“You’re not very good
At writing it.”

I thought about this
For a while.

“I spoke too hastily,”
I said.
“What I should have said was,
Maybe
You’re just not very good
At being me.”

And he said, “Maybe
You aren’t very good
At being you either.”

“Shut up,” I said,
And ordered
Another round.

The bartender came by
With our drinks
And asked me
Who was I talking to?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conversation Between Friends At A Bar That Neither Of Them Can Remember The Name Of

Leave a Reply

