My Magical, Terrifying, Hipster Restaurant Adventure

Soooo I got hungry today.

And I had in my possession an issue of Indianapolis Monthly with a list of the 25 best restaurants in Indy.

So I opened to the article and read about the first restaurant on the list: Rook

rook restaurant indianapolis

Rook is a Southeast Asian fusiony type restaurant. They serve a variety of bánh mì sandwiches (bánh mì is Vietnamese for bread, specifically an airy baguette type common to the country), dumplings, noodles, and other variations on Asian street foods.

When I came in and saw the customer wearing a vest, the waitress’s punky blue highlights, and broken telephone poles serving as wall decorations, I realized what I had done. I had just walked into…

…a Hipster Restaurant.

rook restauant telephone pole

Not that I minded. I don’t have any particular disdain for hipsters…if anything, I felt a little intimidated by the prospect. I had a sort of idea that there were a lot of secret hipster rules that I would be breaking with my every word or action.

But, as I’ve said before, I was hungry, sooooo…

I ordered the Raven, a bánh mì sandwich with made with bulgogi beef (Korean-style steak, marinated, then grilled). This is not a picture of my sandwich, but of one just like it.

rook raven banh mi bulgogi

 

This I followed up with a Filipino dessert called turon, made of thinly sliced plantains and a slice of jackfruit, dusted with brown sugar and fried in a spring roll wrap. The sandwich was $8 and the turon $2.50. The restaurant’s menu was reasonably priced…maybe even too reasonably priced. I began waiting for the hipster hammer to fall.

And when my credit card receipt came, I saw that my $12 meal had come to a total of $39.24.

I knew it! I must have broken one of the cardinal hipster rules! I hadn’t mentioned the appropriate amount of obscure indie bands! I forgot to don a stylish piece of neckwear! My glasses actually improve my eyesight!

So I did what any logical, rational person would do…I manically overtipped and fled before someone could unflatteringly compare me to their least favorite dadaist sculpture.

I mean, I couldn’t really complain…it had tasted like $40 of deliciousness. But the food was really good, and I wanted to at least know where the extra charge had come from. After my embarrassment subsided enough to let me think about things, I decided one of two things must have happened. 1., I’d misread the menu, and the turon was $25.00, not $2.50…or 2., there was some kind of cover charge that I’d missed.

When I called to find out of there was a cover charge, I learned that what had happened was 3., my check had gotten switched with the other table, and, like a doof, I’d left before the waitress could inform me of the slip-up.

So the moral of the story is…um…

  • Asian fusion is delicious
  • New experiences aren’t as scary as they seem
  • Tip well out of love, not embarrassment
  • Fear creates more problems than it solves
  • Blue hair looks better in your twenties than your seventies

One of those. Choose whichever seems to apply.

And if you’re in Indy, check out Rook (downtown, on Virginia Ave.). Delicious eats, cool atmosphere, and an affordable price……usually.

This entry was posted in Food, Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Magical, Terrifying, Hipster Restaurant Adventure

  1. Pingback: Soda Adventures With Maddie | Mindless Productivity

  2. Rachel says:

    Haha, how is it that restaurants can be some of the most terrifying places known to modern man? I suppose when we stopped being scared of things eating us in the wild, we began to be afraid of, um, eating things in the wild…yeah, that sentence sounded better in my head. Anyway, hilarious writing, thanks for the story (and recommendation) 🙂

Leave a Reply

