This Poem Isn’t About You

When you asked if this poem was about you
I said of course, it wasn’t
Of course, of course, of course, it wasn’t
Because of course, of course, of course
It isn’t

It isn’t about how I lie awake
Trying to figure out what I said
Which straw it was that broke the camel’s
Heart

It isn’t about how I can’t drive straight
Veering off course at the sight of you
Just glimpsed out of the corner of my
Mind

It isn’t about how I feel you still
Echoes of touch from those sleepless nights
When you would rest your head against my
Soul

Of course, this poem isn’t about you
Of course, of course, of course, it’s just another silly poem
Like all those other silly poems
That weren’t about you either

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Poem Isn’t About You

  1. Zan says:

    Reblogged this on zan.

  2. Broke my heart! Beautiful! And like the way you styled the verse! 🙂

  3. Yes, Nathan, I’ve been there, I’ve done that, and I didn’t have to buy the t-shirt, because I EARNED IT!

  4. simplethoughts2 says:

    This poem is very clever! I also enjoyed the humor 💗

  5. This is very well written. (-:

Leave a Reply

