Saying Horrible Things

I want to say horrible things to you
To make your jaw hit the floor like a dropped baby
I want to say vulgar things to you
To make your eyes fill with tears like your mouth’s filled with
I want to say atrocious things to you
To make your heart sink like a sack full of kittens and ball bearings
I want to say disgusting things to you
To make your cheeks burn redder than genital herpes
I want to say repulsive things to you
To make your gut churn like a tightly clenched fist in a blender
I want to say hurtful things to you
To make your hope shatter like a light bulb in your fill-in-the-blank
So that one day
When the four-letter words and grotesque turns of phrase
Swell up in your throat like a tumor
And they will
(They always do)
You’ll remember the horrible, vulgar, atrocious, disgusting, repulsive, hurtful things I said
And you’ll vow to be better than me

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Horrible Things

  1. Perhaps a new and intriguing method of parenting, eh, Nate!?

Leave a Reply

