Listening For The Silences

They describe you as a still, small voice
But I hear you as the stilling of small voices
The did-I-pay-the-electric-bill-yet voice
The which-page-did-I-leave-off-on voice
The who-makes-a-left-turn-across-three-lanes voice
The what-did-she-mean-by-that voice

When I listen for you, I hear

Silence

Not the silence of an empty room
But the silence of Someone
Holding their breath

This entry was posted in Poetry, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

