Things I Like

The internet is an economy-sized barrel of hate sometimes. And while I’ve certainly done my share to contribute to the overall hate conglomeration, I’d like to do my part to shore up the sandbags on the like side of things. So this post is just a bunch of bite-sized blurbs about some things I’ve recently enjoyed, in no particular order. Here we go!

Rick and Morty

rick and morty alien planet

The brainchild of Justin Roiland and Community’s Dan Harmon, Rick and Morty follows an alcoholic mad scientist and his grandson on adventures through time and space. It’s like a bizarre animated mash-up of Star Trek, South Park, and Arrested Development. The show breaks the fourth-wall more often than a Tardis breaks the space-time continuum, and the self-aware lightspeed wit even makes way for the occasional moment of stark poignance. The second season’s on air now, and it just keeps getting better. Catch up and keep up on adultswim.com. Wubba lubba dub-dub!

Mangos

african_mango_fruit

Mangos are the best fruit. Grapes are pretty good, apples are all right, and I’m right partial for pineapple, but when it’s time for the World Contest of Best Fruit, none of the other fruits even bother to show up. They know mango wins every time. It’s sweet, it’s tangy, it’s juicy, it’s the best. Don’t know how to slice one? This video shows you how to slice a mango quickly.

Panic! at the Disco

too weird to live too rare to die panic at the disco

I don’t know how to classify Panic! at the Disco: Soft rock? Alternative? Electronica? They have a different sound for every album, and I love them all. I’ve been listening to Vices and Virtues for over a month, and there’s almost never a time that Pretty. Odd. isn’t in my car’s CD changer. The vocals are crooner-smooth, the lyrics are unconventional and playful, the instruments are inventive and evocative. Give them a listen!

Charlie the Venus Flytrap

Grand Theft Auto: Pacifist

Gamer GoldVision attempts to live in the violent world of Grand Theft Auto V as a pacifist. Hilarity and philosophy ensue.

Tzolk’in

tzolk'in board game

I love all kinds of tabletop games. I was just introduced to this one last week. Tzolk’in is a worker-placement board game based on the Mayan calendar. You place your workers on the gears, and with each turn, the gears rotate, opening up new opportunities for your workers. Will you take them off early to keep your workers in play, or let them ride the wheel longer to reap bigger benefits? I enjoyed it. It was complex, but had a lot of interesting strategy.

Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye

hawkeye hawkguy

A friend from writer’s group introduced me to Matt Fraction’s current run on Hawkeye, and I’ve been tearing through the series. Where most of the superhero comics are slinging through the city or soaring through the air, Hawkeye shows what Clint Barton is up to when he’s not Avengering, be it sorting out landlord issues or fixing the cable dish that he may or may not have shot with an arrow. It’s down-to-earth, funny, and most of all fun. Fraction has a real knack for the one-off, telling great standalone stories through creative means. Read an issue or two!

*     *     *

That’s what I’ve got for today. Let me know if you like this feature, and I may start making this a regular thing. Now go make the internet a happier place!

This entry was posted in Reviews, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I Like

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’m Reading – Marvel Comics Edition | Mindless Productivity

  2. I must now thank you profusely for introducing me to GTA Pacifist. So great!

Leave a Reply

